Posts on BeReal are meant to show you who you are, but sometimes that level of authenticity is just too uncomfortable to post. Sometimes the app’s automatic selfie capture takes a selfie that’s too goofy to share with your friends.
Or maybe you’d rather take a photo of something else for today’s BeReal ad. In any case, if you’re not happy with a BeReal post you just published, don’t worry. You can remove it. And we can show you how. We’ll go over what you need to know about deleting posts from BeReal, and then walk you through step-by-step on how to properly delete a post from BeReal.
Things to know before deleting a BeReal post
Although deleting a post from BeReal is a fairly simple process, there are a few things you should know about deleting posts before doing so:
- There are limits to the number of times you can delete a BeReal post. Based on what we’ve seen in the Android version of the app, you only get one chance to delete a BeReal post and retake the photo.
- You can still delete the repeat too, but you won’t be allowed to post another BeReal post until you receive the next daily post push notification.
- Deleting a post from BeReal doesn’t just remove it from the feed. It will also be removed from your Memories section.
- If you delete your post from BeReal, you’ll need to post another one before you can see public posts in Discovery.
How to delete a post from BeReal: Android and iOS
While there are slight differences between Android and iOS when it comes to deleting BeReal posts, the following instructions should work for both, as we’ve noted the differences between the two platforms in the steps below.
(The screenshots in this article are from an Android device.)
Step 1: Open the BeReal you want to delete and then select the Three points icon in the upper right corner of your screen.
(For iOS users: You will also select a Three points but this icon should be located under your BeReal.)
Step 2: In the menu that appears, choose Delete my BeReal.
(For iOS: Select Options > Delete my BeReal.)
Step 3: For both Android and iOS: You will be presented with a screen where you have to choose a reason why you are deleting your post from BeReal. Then you will select Yes, I’m sure.
Then you will select Erase to complete the process.